

American Society of Agronomy Board of Directors Meeting Agenda Wednesday, Dec. 20, 2023 1:45-3:00pm (Central)

President Joann Whalen called the meeting to order. <u>Board members present:</u>

President: Joann Whalen, McGill Univ. (2023) President-Elect Kristen Veum, USDA-ARS (2023) Ag Production Systems: Calvin Trostle, Texas A&M (2024) Environmental Quality: Amy Shober, U of Delaware (2025) Climatology & Modeling: Jessica Torrion, MT State (2024) Education & Extension: Raj Khosla, Kansas State (2023) Grad Student: Harpreet Kaur, Univ. of Idaho (2023) ICCA Rep.: Amy Asmus, Asmus Farm Supply (2025) Industry Rep.: Colin Campbell, METER Group (2025) Land Mgmt & Conservation: Gurpal Toor, Univ of MD (2024) <u>Ex-Officio</u>: CEO Jim Cudahy; Program Planning Officer Jim Ippolito, Ohio State (2025); ASF Chair Samantha Miller, Corteva Agriscience (2023); Editor-in-Chief Kathy Yeater, USDA-ARS (2023); Incoming President-Elect Peter Kyveryga, Deere & Co. Unable to attend:

Climatology & Modeling: Jessica Torrion, Montana State (2024)

DEI Member-at-Large: Candice Duncan, U of Maryland (2023) Early Career Rep.: Nicole Fiorellino, Univ. of Maryland (2025) Finance Representative: Gary Feyereisen, USDA-ARS (2023) Global Agronomy: Wade Thomason, Oklahoma State (2023) Past President: Dave Clay, South Dakota State Univ. (2023) <u>Also attending:</u>

Susan Chapman, Member Services Director Susan Dearing-Bond, Development Director Dawn Gibas, Certification Director Ian Popkewitz, IT/Operations Director Luther Smith, Chief Administrative Officer Sara Uttech, Governance Director

A003 Board of Directors

- 1. The meeting opened 15 minutes early for optional networking.
- 2. President Joann Whalen introduced Asim Biswas, Univ. of Guelph, replacing Maria Villamil who is stepping down as Biometry & Statistical Computing Section Board Representative, term ends 12/31/2024.
- 3. ACTION: The following Consent Agenda items were approved:
 - Dec. 20, 2023 ASA Board of Directors Meeting Agenda
 - Nov. 15, 2023 ASA Board of Directors Meeting Minutes
 - Updated ASA Awards Policy: Board Members (excluding exec committee) can write ASA scholarship reference letters
- 4. CEO Jim Cudahy reported on the Strategic Plan Department Directors Retreat. The 2024-2028 ASA Strategic Plan is posted on our Governance webpage: www.agronomy.org/about-society/governance
- 5. ASA November 2023 Membership Stats:



6. ASA, CSSA, SSSA Awards & Scholarships Open 1/4/24 at <u>www.agronomy.org/awards</u> - encourage colleagues and students to apply, post to Discussion Boards

- Award Nominations close 3/12/2024 | Award Submissions due 3/19/2024
- Scholarship Nominations close 3/19/2024 | Scholarship Submissions due 3/27/2024
- 7. Final Thank you to outgoing ASA Board Members:
 - Past President Dave Clay, South Dakota State University
 - Education & Extension Section Board Representative: Raj Khosla Kansas State University
 - Global Board Representative: Wade Thomason, Oklahoma State University
 - International Certified Crop Adviser (ICCA) Board Representative: Amy Asmus, Asmus Farm Supply
 - Graduate Student Board Representative: Harpreet Kaur, University of Missouri
 - Agronomic Science Foundation (ASF) Chair: Samantha Miller, Corteva Agriscience

ACS528 Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in ASA, CSSA, and SSSA Committee

Special Projects Director Susan Chapman provided an update on the DEI Mentoring Project and led a discussion on Mentoring.

ACS321 Editorial Policy Coordination Committee

CEO Jim Cudahy provided an update on post-2024 publishing with plans for presentations by Springer and Wiley in early 2024.

A101 Nominations Committee

Last call for ASA President-Elect Candidates: submit to Governance Director Sara Uttech, suttech@sciencesocieties.org

- Six Candidate Names Submitted in 2023
- Nominations Committee to Meet in early 2024

Consensus to adjourn.