2022 Business Meeting Minutes Southern Regional Branch – American Society of Agronomy February 14, 2022 New Orleans, LA

- The 2022 business meeting was called to order by the President Dr. Song Cui at 10:00 am on February 14, 2022.
- Officers were introduced. Officers are Dr. Nithya Rajan, Past President; Dr. Song Cui, President; Dr. Gurpreet Virk, Vice President and Program Chair; Dr. Audrey Gamble, Secretary/Treasurer; Dr. Trent Irby, Secretary/Treasurer-elect
- Dr. Cui presented the 2021 minutes (virtual conference). A concern from 2021 minutes was low participation from undergraduates. Undergraduate attendance increased from 2 in 2021 to 4 in 2022.
- Dr. Cui motioned to approve the minutes. Dr. Monfort seconded the motion. The motion was approved.
- Dr. Audrey Gamble presented the budget. There were 77 registrants for the 2022 conference, out of which 36 were students. Total revenue from the registration was \$8,200. The ending balance is \$16,019.
- There were 79 submitted abstracts including 4 undergraduate posters, 11 MS posters, 7 PhD posters, 22 professional posters, 13 MS orals, 16 PhD orals, and 6 professional orals.
- Research Career Professional Award was presented by Dr. Song Cui:
 - o Dr. Paul DeLaune, Associate Professor of Digital Agriculture, Middle Tennessee State University.
- Dr. Gurpreet Kaur presented the student competition awards.

<u>Undergraduate competition (4)</u>

3rd: Matthew Fowler, Murray State University

2nd: Luther Dunlap, Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College

1st: Amara White, Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College

M.S. Poster Competition (11)

3rd: Sadikshya Poudel, Mississippi State University

2nd: Katelin Waldrep, Mississippi State University

1st: Namita Sinha, Mississippi State University

PhD Poster Competition (7)

3rd: Joseph Iboyi, University of Florida

2nd: Ved Prakash, University of Georgia1st: Gurpreet Virk, University of Georgia

MS Oral Competition (13)

3rd: Patterson Hilaire, Mississippi State University

2nd: Macie Wheeler, University of Georgia1st: Savannah Banner, University of Georgia

PhD. Oral Competition (16)

3rd: Geeta Kharel, Auburn University

2nd: Gurpreet Virk, University of Georgia

1st: Anna Smyly, Mississippi State University

(First Prize - \$300, Second Prize - \$200, Third Prize - \$100)

- Election Secretary/Treasurer position. Got 3 nominations:
 - 1. Dr. Jagmandeep Dhillon, Mississippi State University (Nominated by Dr. Jason Krutz)
 - 2. Dr. Mike Mulvaney, Mississippi State (Nominated by Dr. Brian Baldwin)
- New business/comments/suggestions
 - Dr. Mike Mulvaney suggested moderators hold talks until scheduled time if a speaker does not show.
 - Dr. Song Cui noted that we are working with ASA headquarters to streamline registration/abstract submission process.
- The gavel was passed to Dr. Gurpreet Kaur by Dr. Song Cui (President to Presentelect).
- An announcement was made that the 2023 meeting will be held in Oklahoma City on Feb 2-7, 2023
- Motion was approved to adjourn the meeting. Dr. Cui motioned to adjourn, and Dr. Baldwin seconded. The motion was passed